A breath between storms

There was a weather warning issued yesterday for severe gales in the North-west. It was very accurate to say the least and people were warned not to travel.

In Iceland the wind speed is given in metres per second.

The designation for this storm was 20-28 m/s coming from the south west. According to the Icelandic Met Office there was a vigorousĀ 968 mb low WSW of the Westfjords, moving north. I love the understatement of ‘vigorous’. The gusts could be felt battering the house and the sound was of the express train variety. Strangely I slept very well doubtless helped by Gudny (one of the residency committee) telling me the house had been there since 1913.

There is another storm due this afternoon/evening with violent gales in north west parts this evening. 25-30 m/s, 970mb low. Is there a difference between vigorous and violent when it comes to storms?

Its all a world away from calling storms ridiculous names like Abigail and Barney as if we were children being told a fairy story. It’s disrespectful to storms and patronising for humans- please, just give me the facts every time.

image

4 thoughts on “A breath between storms

  1. Exciting stuff!! I agree about the naming of storms, Silvana. Not a breath of wind here today. Weather fascinates me. Hope you’re warm and the work going well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We do have such a fascination with weather don’t we, but I would imagine this is amplified where you are Silvana by the addition of sound. It must be wonderful but I cannot comprehend the speed in seconds. It just sounds fast and loud to me! Like other people who have commented I have been watching Trapped and – putting the Icelandic weather aside – it is the language that I also find intriguing. I wonder if you are finding it easy to hear all the nuances of it, or do they all speak English? I hope the answer to that is no, but I’d be keen to hear the answer!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fast and loud describes it very well. Most people speak very good English and this is amplified among younger people who have had greater access to the language (television, Internet etc) It’s very helpful given my twenty word vocabulary but I enjoy hearing Icelandic being spoken and to my ear its light, speedy pronunciation is in tune with the landscape and its breezes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

